Welcome to Focus Module

"LC-PUFA's in Pregnancy, Lactation and Infancy"

Here you find an overview of the module on "LC-PUFA's in Pregnancy, Lactation and Infancy", its structure and units, learning aims and information on how to get your CME credits.


Although fat is the most energy dense macronutrient, the human body requires dietary fats not only as an important energy source, but for many other body functions. In this context, the quality of fat is of great value throughout the life cycle, especially in pregnant and lactating women, as well as in the developing and growing child. While saturated fatty acids are mostly attributed negative health outcomes, the awareness of the positive effects of the unsaturated types, especially long-chain polyunsaturated fatty acids (LC-PUFAs), is increasing. They play a critical role in cell membrane structure, the functioning of the brain and nervous system and are most abundantly found in the brain, retina and the central nervous system.
Being essential fatty acids, a sufficient intake and possible supplementation of LC-PUFAs is crucial to positively influence body functions and health outcomes. Early life, pregnancy and lactation are considered life stages that go along with special needs for LC-PUFAs because of their role in growth, development, vision, neurological and immune function.

In this module, the perinatal importance of LC-PUFAs from pregnancy until late infancy is going to be discussed in detail, with an overview of chemistry, metabolism and physiological action, health outcomes for mothers and their offspring, as well as recommended intakes in the different life stages.

Structure, Content and Learning Aims of this Module

The module "LC-PUFAs in Pregnancy, Lactation and Infancy" contains three separate units which can be worked through in your preferred order. For each unit, you will have the opportunity to request CME credits upon successful completion of a multiple choice test at the end.

Unit 1

Please click here to see an overview of the whole module.

open access

Free of charge! 


Targeted to international healthcare professionals and researchers


Available Worldwide

How to best follow this module 

For your own coordination and scheduling: To go through this entire module which contains three units, you will need about 495 minutes (about 135-180 minutes for each unit). Downloading further literature or using our integrated links will take additional time.

Every unit consists of a self-assessment test at the beginning, different lessons and a CME test at the end. During the course of the module, the learner will benefit from a number of learning tools, including self-assessment tests, graphics and a discussion forum..

To make better use of the teaching material and consequently a better learning experience overall, we suggest that the learner first should go through the units only after that they should attempt the CME tests.

CME Certificate of Completion

Please Note: Starting from 1st September 2021, The Early Nutrition eAcademy is offering e-learning modules and CME Certificates of Completion free of charge to health care professionals worldwide.

The CME test will only be available once all elements in each unit are marked complete. To receive your CME Certificate of Completion, you have to successfully pass the CME multiple-choice test.

European CME Accreditation:

This module has been accredited by the UEMS with 8 credits.

open access

Complete all unit elements 


Pass CME Test


Credits by the EACCME

Information about CME Accreditation

European Accreditation:

This unit has been accredited by the European Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (EACCME). The EACCME is an institution of the European Union of Medical Specialists (UEMS). Only those e-learning materials that are displayed on the UEMS-EACCME website have formally been accredited. Each medical specialist should claim only those credits that he/she actually spent in the educational activity.

US American Accreditation:

The American Medical Association (AMA) has an agreement of mutual recognition of continuing medical education (CME) credit with the European Union of Medical Specialties (UEMS). Instructions for converting EACCME Credit to AMA PRA Category 1 Credits are available here.

How to get started

Click the button below to start with Unit 1

Unit 1

OR choose another Unit from the list below